Wednesday, March 17, 2010


Wednesday, March 17, 2010
Today, a friend of mine told me that some Gummy Bears and other gummy candies are not vegetarian friendly. I was shocked to hear this because I am a huge fan of sour gummy worms. I am not a vegetarian but I don't eat pork or beef products, so this would obviously cause a problem for me.

I had to find out for myself if this is really true, so I googled it :)
After checking out a couple of sites, I found out that some gummy candies do use an ingredient called gelatin which is "derived from the collagen inside animals' skin and bones." Fortunately, I read that Sour Patch Kids are in fact vegan friendly and don't contain gelatin. So, from now on, I'm going to have to look at the ingredients on all gummy candies before I buy them. Oh and gelatin is also used in marshmallows! It's crazy to think about what else is in our food....


Post a Comment